India becomes Regional Head of Asia Pacific Region in WCO

India has become the Vice Chair of the Asia Pacific Region of World Customs Organisation (WCO) for a period of two years, from July 2018 to June 2020.
The Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC) in partnership with Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) is organising an event on July 16, 2018 in New Delhi, to mark the assumption of the new leadership role.

India and UAE sign MoU on Artificial Intelligence

India and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on July 28, 2018 signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to boost their respective artificial intelligence economies.

In this regard, the UAE Minister for Artificial Intelligence Omar bin Sultan Al Olama and Invest India’s Managing Director and CEO Deepak Bagla signed an MoU to create a bilateral ‘Artificial Intelligence Bridge’ with an aim to generate USD 20 billion in economic benefits during the next decade.

Tokyo 2020 committee officially launches Olympic mascots

The Tokyo 2020 Organising Committee on July 22, 2018 officially launched its Olympic mascots Miraitowa and Someity at a ceremony attended by Tokyo Governor Yuriko Koike and Committee’s President Yoshiro Mori.

The name of the blue-checked Olympic mascot ‘Miraitowa’ is derived from a combination of the Japanese words for future and eternity and seeks to “promote a future full of eternal hope in the hearts of people all over the world”.

Myanmar joins International Solar Alliance

Myanmar on July 19, 2018 joined the India-initiated International Solar Alliance (ISA), thus, becoming the 68th signatory to the Framework Agreement of the ISA that aims for optimum utilisation of solar energy.
Myanmar Minister for International Cooperation, Kyaw Tin handed over the ISA Framework Agreement to External Affairs Minister SushmaSwaraj during a bilateral meeting on this year’s Delhi Dialogue.

UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres constitutes High-Level Panel on Digital Cooperation

The United Nations Secretary-General Antonio Guterres on July 12, 2018 constituted a High-Level Panel on Digital Cooperation.
The panel will be co-chaired by Melinda Gates, Co-Chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and Jack Ma, Executive Chairman of Alibaba Group.  The Panel has a total of 20 members, representing a cross-section of expertise from Government, private industry, civil society, academia and the technical community.