India’s Bharat Vatwani, SonamWangchuk among 2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award winners

Two Indians, namely, Bharat Vatwani and SonamWangchuk on July 26, 2018 won the 2018 Ramon Magsaysay Award, the Asian version of the Nobel Prize.

Bharat Vatwani is a psychiatrist who works for the mentally-ill street persons, while, SonamWangchuk works to harness science and culture creatively for economic progress that has improved the lives of the Ladakhi youth.

Home Ministry institutes five Police Medals

The Union Home Ministry has instituted five Police Medals to promote professionalism and excellence in service and give recognition to the security personnel doing good work in stressful environment and in difficult areas.

The five non-cash awards will supplement and strengthen the existing award schemes in the State Police Forces, Central Police Organisations and the Armed Forces.

Following are the five new medals:

  1. Union Home Minister’s Special Operation Medal
  2. Police AntarikSurakshaSevaPadak
  3. AsadharanAasuchanaKushalataPadak
  4. Utkrisht and AtiUtkrishtSeva Medal
  5. Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation