Bharat Ratna 2019: Pranab Mukherjee, NanajiDeshmukh, BhupenHazarika conferred with highest civilian honour

The President, Ram NathKovind on January 25, 2019 conferred the 2019 Bharat Ratna Award, country’s highest civilian honour, on former president and Congress leader Pranab Mukherjee.

The awards were announced in three categories:

  • Padma Vibhushan: For exceptional and distinguished service.
  • Padma Bhushan: For distinguished service of high order.

• Padma Shri: For distinguished service in any field.

Padma Awards 2019 announced: GautamGambhir, Prabhu Deva, Late Kader Khan among awardees

This year, President Ram NathKovind approved conferment of 112 Padma Awards including one duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one).

The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri Awards, of which, 21 of the awardees are women. The list includes 11 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI, 3 posthumous awardees and 1 transgender person.

Republic Day 2019: 48 people conferred with JeevanRakshaPadak awards

The President of India on January 25, 2018 approved the conferment of JeevanRakshaPadak Series of Awards – 2018 on 48 people, eight of them posthumously.

The JeevanRakshaPadak series of awards are conferred for the meritorious act of human nature in saving the life of a person. They are given under three categories: SarvottamJeevanRakshaPadak, UttamJeevanRakshaPadak and JeevanRakshaPadak.  People of all walks of life are eligible for these awards.

VineshPhogat becomes first Indian athlete to be nominated in Laureus World Comeback of Year Award

Image result for VineshPhogat becomes first Indian athlete to be nominated in Laureus World Comeback of Year Award

Indian star wrestler VineshPhogat on January 17, 2019 became the first Indian athlete to be nominated for the prestigious Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award.

Vinesh has been nominated in “Laureus World Sporting Comeback” category for the year 2019 and will be competing for the award with some of the world’s greatest sportspersons including golfer Tiger Woods, Canadian snowboarder Mark McMorris, American alpine ski racer Lindsey Vonn, Japanese figure skater YuzuruManyu and Dutch para-snowboarding star BibianMentel-Spee.

Railway Minister PiyushGoyal awarded 4th annual Carnot Prize

Image result for Railway Minister PiyushGoyal awarded 4th annual Carnot Prize

Union Minister of Railways & Coal PiyushGoyal was on January 30, 2019 formally conferred with the fourth annual Carnot Prize by the Kleinman Center for Energy Policy at the University of Pennsylvania School of Design in New Delhi.

The Minister had previously been unable to accept the award in the United States of America, due to the unfortunate train tragedy that took place in Amritsar. Upon receiving the award, the Minister stated that “it is both a personal honour as well as a tribute to the efforts of all involved in this great work throughout India to be recognised with the Carnot Prize by the University of Pennsylvania”.

SahityaAkademi Awards 2018 presented to 24 writers; Hindi writer ChitraMudgal among winners

India’s national academy of letters, SahityaAkademi on January 29, 2019 presented the SahityaAkademi Award 2018 to 24 writers. The awards were given for 24 different Indian languages.

Renowned Hindi writer ChitraMudgal, Dogri writer InderjeetKesar, Kannada writer KG Nagarajappa and Kashmiri story writer Mushtaq Ahmad Mushtaq were among the 24 winners.

ICAR Republic Day tableau ‘Kisan Gandhi’ wins first prize

The Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) was awarded the first prize for its Tableau, ‘Kisan Gandhi’ in the Republic Day Parade – 2019. The Union Minister of Defence, NirmalaSitharaman, handed over the award to the ICAR team in New Delhi on January 28, 2019.

The ICAR tableau displayed the importance of dairy farming, use of indigenous breeds and livestock based organic agriculture for rural prosperity.